Department News

Dr. Sindhu Manjesh to publish blog with Times of India:

CMJ’s Lecturer in Journalism, Sindhu Manjesh, has been commissioned by the Times of India to publish a blog on international politics and society with a focus on the U.S. Her posts can be found here.

Drs. Laura Rickard and Bridie McGreavy receive grant from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Their project, entitled “Fish, Farms and Shared Futures: Defining public perceptions of land-based aquaculture to support
sustainable decision-making”  takes a two-pronged approach to explore local Recirculating Aquaculture Systems (RAS) siting dynamics, focusing on 1) perceptions and 2) communication. On the perception side, Rickard, McGreavy and collaborators propose to explore several complementary social psychological constructs that may assist entrepreneurs and regulators, as well as local communities, in identifying and addressing potential barriers to siting aquaculture facilities, including sense of place and perceived naturalness. Check out this news clip featuring Dr. Rickard describing this award and a UMaine feature story.

Congratulations to Olivia Reese!

Olivia Reese, a Media Studies major, has been selected to be this semester’s McGillicuddy Humanities Center fellow. Her research aims to reconceptualize cultivation theory to consider elements of social media usage. She is the first non-English major to receive this honor. 

Paul Grosswiler to give talk Tuesday, March 12

On Tuesday, March 12th, Professor Paul Grosswiler will be giving a talk in the Bangor Room of the Memorial Union titled “James Carey and Canadian Media Theory: Communication is Culture.” Box lunches and hot beverages will be available. 

Spring 2019 upcoming dates to note:

Classes begin: Tuesday, January 22

Last day to add classes: Monday, January 28

Application for Graduation filing deadline: Friday, February 1

Last day to drop classes for refund: Monday, February 4

Spring recess begins Monday, March 18

Classes resume Monday, March 25

Commencement: Saturday, May 11

Here’s a link to the University of Maine 2018-2019 Academic Calendar.