Alan Berry is a first year Ph.D. student studying media literacy education. He is the former education director of The LAMP, a non-profit media literacy organization in New York. In 2018, Alan was a Fulbright research fellow in Kosovo, studying media literacy efforts in communities across the country.

Email: richard.berry@maine.edu


James Bonneau is a first year M.A. student who is interested in portrayals of climate change in media.

Email: James.Bonneau@maine.edu


Tabitha Boze is a second year M.A. student who studies environmental communication. Her work focuses on the influence of political orientation and environmental attitude on perceptions of aquaculture. Tabitha serves as treasurer of the Graduate Student Association.

Email: tabitha.boze@maine.edu

Website


Michael Clay is a second year Ph.D. student who studies environmental communication. He is actively involved with the CMJ Graduate Student Association.

Email: michael.clay@maine.edu


Janina Deisenrieder is a first year M.A. student who studies communication and journalism. Janina volunteers as Graduate Student Government representative and is interested in intercultural exchange.

Email: janina.deisenrieder@maine.edu


Kevin Duffy is a Ph.D. candidate who studies how print news and photography shape local narratives about coastal development in Maine.

Email: Kevin.Duffy1@Maine.edu

 


Mary Ellms is a first year Ph.D. student who is interested in media studies.

Email: mary.ellms@maine.edu 


Jaquel Eley is a second year M.A. student studying African American male images in the media

Email: jaquel.eley@maine.edu 


Shelbi is a second year M.A. student studying the intersection of celebrity culture and social media.

Email: shelbi.felblinger@maine.edu


Mackenzie Peacock is a first year M.A. student who is interested in studying performance and theatre as a method of communication and social change. Mackenzie is an actor, director, and playwright and enjoys being involved in the theatre community. This past summer, she worked for the Missoula Children’s Theatre as a Tour Actor/Director and Teaching Artist.

Email: mackenzie.peacock@maine.edu


Tyler is a fourth year Ph.D. candidate who studies environmental communication with a focus on environmental restoration in news reporting, community collaborations, and digital technologies. Tyler is passionate about information accessibility and designs free and open research tools to bridge digital gaps. Tyler volunteers for Spire, an open-access journal of conservation and sustainability run by UMaine students.

Email: tyler.quiring@maine.edu

Website


Timothy Rocha is a second year M.A. student who studies health communication. His focus is on how chronically and terminally ill smokers make sense of their identity following diagnosis. Timothy serves as an officer for the Lambda Pi Eta communication honor society on campus. Additionally, he teaches an introductory communication class (Storytelling) at the university.

Email: timothy.rocha@maine.edu

Website


Abby Roche is a third year Ph.D. student studying environmental communication. She focuses on participatory models of public understanding of science in environmental risk contexts. Abby is interested in the complexities of voice, justice, and social responsibility and serves on the Graduate Student Government (GSG) executive committee as the Graduate Student Board of Trustees representative. In this role she keeps her constituents abreast on BOT decisions while also advocating for graduate student interests and well-being.

Email: abby.roche@maine.edu

Website


Clinton Spaulding is a third year Ph.D. student who studies critical pedagogy. He is exploring the potential for documentary poetics as/in critical and ecopedagogy. Clinton works as an editor for the interdisciplinary journal, SPIRE, and is an undergraduate advisor for the CMJ department.

Email: clinton.spaulding@maine.edu


Sarah Wagner is a first year M.A. student who is interested in studying communication. She intends to focus on the relationship between the use of primary sources and the creation of historical narratives.

Email: sarah.wagner@maine.edu


Austin Wojchowski is a first year M.A. student studying interpersonal communication.

Email: austin.wojchowski1@maine.edu